The Garhaus stands outside the remains of the perimeter wall. It was built sometime after 1560 by the Uthmann family. This was the first time the metallurgical process was broken down into separate stages and ‘garen’ (finishing) was given its own special building. The Garhaus hearth was large enough to make it unique in the industry and was often visited by professionals from some distance away.
After liquation came to an end at the site, the Garhaus served as a refinery for the purification of copper purchased from outside the region, including from Chile. Twelve years later, the building was repurposed as a metal bending and wire drawing workshop.
Today, it is used by PULSSCHLAG Bike + Sport as retail premises.